republicpaster.blogg.se

My documents on mac
My documents on mac










  1. #MY DOCUMENTS ON MAC SOFTWARE#
  2. #MY DOCUMENTS ON MAC WINDOWS#

There's not that much that changes in here. You get a little warning there that things may look different but in the case of this document it actually looks very much like the Word document. So you can end up with a document that looks very similar. If you open it up in Pages it's going to be able to do a lot of what Word can do. Now, of course, the heavy hitter is to open it up in Pages. So if you get a few paragraphs of text without any layout or anything then TextEdit is a good option. TextEdit uses either Plain Text or Rich Text format which can be used on any machine. So now maybe I can clean this up and pass it along in a standard format. Images aren't even included that's in this document. Now TextEdit doesn't have the ability to display graphics and layout and stuff like Preview does. So if I want to pass it along, perhaps, I could pass it along in a good format rather than one people may not be able to access.Īnother way to do it is to open with TextEdit. I can't do much more with it but it's nice to have it open in an actual application here. Then Preview allows me to view the document.

my documents on mac

I'm going to Control click on it and choose Open With Preview. So you can drag and drop it onto Preview. You can scroll through it and see what's there.Īnother way you can view is Open With Preview. Quick Look gives you a nice window version of that. If I'm viewing say in Column View I'll see the Preview here on the right side.

my documents on mac

Now at the same time you could also go in the Finder, I'm going to create a new Finder window here, and go to Desktop and there's the word doc. But if there's just basic information, and there are plenty of times when we get like three paragraphs of plain text in a Microsoft Word document, why they didn't just include this in the email as text I don't know, but it comes in Microsoft Word format and you can read it here using just Quick Look. That's just selecting the file and hitting the spacebar. Well, the first way I could view this is just by simply using Quick Look. I do have Microsoft Word so this is what it looks like in Microsoft Word. The first one is a pretty simple text document.

#MY DOCUMENTS ON MAC SOFTWARE#

But you can still view word documents and even edit them on your Mac with some software that comes installed on your Mac already or is just free.

#MY DOCUMENTS ON MAC WINDOWS#

Even some people on Windows don't have Microsoft Word. People assume because their computer came with Microsoft Word or they got it a long time ago that everybody has Microsoft Word. You get docs from teachers and parents at schools. Sometimes people just don't get that this is not a universal format. Video Transcript: So from time to time you may get a document in Microsoft Word format. If not, you might need to reinstall the system, not from scratch, but the “install in place” option that puts all the right files back in the right place.Check out Opening Microsoft Word Documents On a Mac at YouTube for closed captioning and more options. That might mean preferences corruption, and that can sometimes be cleared by restarting. However, I’ve seen on some machines that once the item is missing it’s persistently gone. If you delete one of these special item from the Sidebar-hold down Option and drag it out-you should be able to restore it just by visiting this preference pane and checking its box. That’s where you’ll find checkboxes for all the things you can have icons for in your Sidebar. In the Finder, choose Finder > Preferences, and then click Sidebar.

my documents on mac my documents on mac

It shows all files on your Mac, defaulting from newest to oldest. You can re-enable special items that appear in the Sidebar via Finder Preferences.Īll My Files is one of the most useful features in the Finder for my virtual dollar. Now I can’t find it! Any way I can get that back? IDG I accidentally deleted the “All My Files” folder under Finder/Favorites.












My documents on mac